Brian Pagán https://brianpagan.net Being. Human. Wed, 21 Jul 2021 10:27:22 +0000 en hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.8 https://brianpagan.net/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/cropped-emotionInAction-brianpagan.net_-32x32.png Brian Pagán https://brianpagan.net 32 32 Emotional Objects and Why We Love Them https://brianpagan.net/2020/emotional-objects-and-why-we-love-them/ Mon, 24 Feb 2020 16:07:16 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=4020 We respond emotionally to many aspects of physical objects. Here are three that digital things still don’t have. I got a…

The post Emotional Objects and Why We Love Them appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
Eindhoven Empathy Model https://brianpagan.net/2020/eindhoven-empathy-model/ Wed, 12 Feb 2020 12:12:26 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=3942 Traditionally, we’re taught that empathy is a mystery, some magic that we’re either born with or not. But it’s is…

The post Eindhoven Empathy Model appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
The Creative Empathy Field Guide https://brianpagan.net/2020/the-creative-empathy-field-guide/ Wed, 12 Feb 2020 09:49:17 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=3937 Whether we’re writing a play, designing a product, or building a business, The Creative Empathy Field Guide is your practical…

The post The Creative Empathy Field Guide appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
How to Design Meaningful Products https://brianpagan.net/2019/how-to-design-meaningful-products/ Sun, 17 Feb 2019 20:36:08 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=3346 What is your purpose in life? What’s mine? We humans don’t exist to consume, swipe, buy, or use; we exist…

The post How to Design Meaningful Products appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
So Long, User Experience… Hello, Human Experience! https://brianpagan.net/2018/so-long-user-experience-hello-human-experience/ Sat, 21 Jul 2018 16:42:52 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=3104 I detest “User Experience.” Calm down 😮 I’m not hating on the field, on its practitioners (I am one), or on…

The post So Long, User Experience… Hello, Human Experience! appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
Vision, Objectives, & Actions https://brianpagan.net/2018/vision-objectives-actions/ Wed, 06 Jun 2018 09:21:34 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=3021 When we think of human-centered design, we tend to assume that step one must be: understand the “other” person; the…

The post Vision, Objectives, & Actions appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
Privacy: A Quick Overview for App Designers https://brianpagan.net/2018/privacy-a-quick-overview-for-app-designers/ https://brianpagan.net/2018/privacy-a-quick-overview-for-app-designers/#comments Mon, 30 Apr 2018 15:08:01 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=2882 I feel like app designers’ attitudes on privacy have gone from 😐 to 😕 & lately to 😳. It’s ok:…

The post Privacy: A Quick Overview for App Designers appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
https://brianpagan.net/2018/privacy-a-quick-overview-for-app-designers/feed/ 1
Public Speaking: Four Habits for Anyone https://brianpagan.net/2018/public-speaking-four-habits-for-anyone/ https://brianpagan.net/2018/public-speaking-four-habits-for-anyone/#comments Sat, 24 Mar 2018 10:59:53 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=2850 People seem to think public speaking is reserved for the chosen few who possess a talent for it. Some of…

The post Public Speaking: Four Habits for Anyone appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
https://brianpagan.net/2018/public-speaking-four-habits-for-anyone/feed/ 1
Hiring a Designer: What I Look For https://brianpagan.net/2018/what-i-look-for-when-hiring-a-designer/ Mon, 12 Mar 2018 18:22:12 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=2832 A buddy & colleague of mine recently got the mandate to build a UX team at his company. It’s an…

The post Hiring a Designer: What I Look For appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>
Four Design Lessons from Professional Actors https://brianpagan.net/2018/four-design-lessons-from-professional-actors/ Wed, 24 Jan 2018 21:50:49 +0000 https://brianpagan.net/?p=2685 This year started wonderfully for me. I joined ITiE and four other amateur theatre groups to perform at the Stadschouwburg…

The post Four Design Lessons from Professional Actors appeared first on Brian Pagán.

]]>